Diversity for Community Committee

The College of Education is committed to diversity in the broadest sense of the term. This committee demonstrates the consistency and permanency of the college's commitment to diversity, caring and ethics that are part of the vision and mission of the College of Education. The purpose of the Diversity for Community Committee (DCC) is to address matters pertaining to diversity issues (using the term diversity as defined in the Principles of Community adopted by the university and college.)

Areas of responsibility for the committee include setting priorities for the college's diversity initiatives; working with college committees and departments on issues that have college-wide implications; establishing guidelines for the allocation and use of designated funds; providing leadership and policy recommendations in diversity issues; initiating, implementing and evaluating diversity initiatives in the college; and acting as liaison on university-wide committees addressing diversity, when requested or appointed.

Diversity Enhancement Proposals

Diversity Enhancement Proposal Guidelines (PDF)

The DCC welcomes proposals from college faculty, staff, and students for projects that enhance our knowledge, skills, and professional dispositions, directly related to issues of diversity (e.g., ethnicity, race, socioeconomic status, gender, exceptionalities, language, religion, sexual orientation, and geographical area). The DCC seeks to support research and experiences that develop the ability of candidates and professionals to work with diverse populations, including P-12, adult education, and higher education communities. These grants can be used for research, to present at conferences, or to pay for honoraria and travel expenses of invited guests.

Committee Members

  • Robert Hachiya, Chair (Educational Leadership)
  • Jeff Zacharakis (Educational Leadership)
  • Marilyn Kaff (Special Education, Counseling, and Student Affairs)
  • Doris Carroll (Special Education, Counseling, and Student Affairs)
  • Kevin Murry (Curriculum and Instruction)
  • Deepak Subramony (Curriculum and Instruction)
  • Kelly Briggs (Student Success and Professional Services)