1. K-State home
  2. »College of Education
  3. »About Our College
  4. »People
  5. »College Exemplary Awards

College of Education

College of Education
006 Bluemont Hall
1114 Mid-Campus Drive North
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7304 fax

College Exemplary Awards

Dan and Cheryl Yunk Award for Excellence in Educational Administration

The Dan and Cheryl Yunk Award for Excellence in Educational Administration recognizes the importance of school administrators in establishing environments that promote student learning. The award is named in honor of Dan and Cheryl Yunk, exemplary teachers and administrators throughout their careers in the Manhattan-Ogden school system. The purpose of this award is to advance public recognition and recruitment for graduate programs in Educational Leadership at Kansas State University by honoring an individual who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in providing or promoting the administration of P-12 schools in Kansas.

2019 Award Recipient:
David C. Thompson
, Professor, Educational Leadership, Elvon G. Skeen Endowed Chair in Education, and Distinguished Research Fellow NEFA

Distinguished Cooperating Teacher Award

The Distinguished Cooperating Teacher Award is bestowed every year by the Student Affairs Committee. This award is given for meritorious service to the profession in Elementary (K-6), Middle School (5-8), or High School (9-12) classrooms. The winner is honored at the fall Education Symposium.

2019 Award Recipient:
Susan Lowman, Northview Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden School District