1. K-State home
  2. »College of Education
  3. »Research and Scholarship
  4. »Distinguished Educational Research Lecture Series

College of Education

Distinguished Educational Research Lecture Series

2018 Lecture:

Dr. Leslie FenwickLooking Behind the Veil of School Reform
Dr. Leslie Fenwick

Senior Fellow for the McDonald Character Leadership Program at West Point Academy and 
Dean Emeritus of the Howard University School of Education

Dr. Leslie T. Fenwick, PhD, is Dean Emeritus of the Howard University School of Education and a tenured professor of educational policy and leadership. A former Visiting Scholar and Visiting Fellow at Harvard University, Fenwick is currently a Senior Fellow for the McDonald Character Leadership Program at West Point Academy (the United States Military Academy). Additionally, she is a 2014 Salzburg Global Fellow (the cohort was convened in Salzburg, Austria to examine globalization and leadership) and a member of the 1999 cohort of American university administrators invited to the University of Oxford (Exeter College) to discuss ethics and leadership.

A nationally-known education policy and leadership scholar and former urban K-12 school teacher and administrator, Dr. Fenwick is co-founder of the Howard University-American Association of School Administrators (AASA) Urban Superintendents Academy and a past member of the Harvard University Principals Center Advisory Board. Notably, Dr. Fenwick served as an appointed member of the National Research Council committee that produced the National Academy of Sciences’ first study about mayoral control of public schools.

View the Lecture:

About the Lecture Series

In 2013, the College of Education received an award from the President and Provost Academic Excellence Funding to initiate a Distinguished Educational Research Lecture Series as part of the Faculty Mentoring Program in our college. The lecture series brings outstanding education research scholars to meet with faculty and students and to speak about their research. The goals were to provide an outstanding academic role model for junior faculty and graduate students, to promote advanced research dialogue among faculty and graduate students, and to accelerate the development of academic research networks.

In the fall, the COE mentoring committee (a standing subcommittee in the College, with a member from each department and chaired by the Associate Dean who is also the Director of the Faculty Mentoring Program) solicits recommendations for a guest scholar for the lecture. The committee makes recommendations to the Dean and the Administrative Council and a scholar is chosen.

Distinguished Educational Research Lecture Series logo

Distinguished Educational Research Scholars

2017 – Dr. Charles Greenwood
2017 – Dr. Judith Carta
2016 – Dr. Kern Alexander
2015 – Dr. Sonia Nieto
2014 – Dr. Chris Dede

2013 – Dr. Gloria Ladson-Billings

Presentation Archive