1. K-State home
  2. »College of Education
  3. »Alumni and Friends
  4. »Alumni Fellows Archive

College of Education

College of Education
006 Bluemont Hall
1114 Mid-Campus Drive North
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7304 fax

Alumni Fellows Archive


Fred Van Ranken, '87, '94, bachelor's degree in secondary education and master's degree in educational administration. Superintendent, USD #240 Twin Valley Public Schools (Bennington and Tescott, KS).


Shelbie Witte, '06, '08, master's and doctoral degrees in curriculum and instruction. Chuck and Kim Watson Endowed Chair and associate professor of adolescent literacy and English education at Oklahoma State University.


Brooks Barta, '93, '97, bachelor's degree in secondary mathematics education and master's degree in educational administration. High school math teacher and head football coach at Holton High School, Holton, Kansas, and Kansas Football Coach of the Year. Former All-Big Eight linebacker and National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Scholar-Athlete.


Raymond Doswell, '08, doctorate in educational leadership.
Vice president of curatorial services, Negro Leagues Baseball Museum, Kansas City, Missouri.


Chad Clark, '08, doctorate in adult education.
Engagement leader at Cerner Corporation.


Curt Brungardt, '97, doctorate in curriculum and instruction. Omer G. Voss Distinguished Professorship of Leadership Studies and co-founder and executive director of the Center for Civic Leadership, Fort Hays State University.

Christie Brungardt, '09, doctorate in curriculum and instruction. Assistant professor of leadership studies, director of the Women’s Leadership Project, and co-founder of the Center for Civic Leadership at Fort Hays State University.

Curt and Christie Brungardt


Diane DeBacker, '02, doctorate in educational administration and leadership. Kansas Commissioner of Education.


Dwight D. Jones, '90, master's degree in educational administration. Superintendent of Schools, Clark County School District, Las Vegas, Nevada.


Cindy Slavik Couchman, '90, '93, bachelor's degree in secondary mathematics education and master's degree in educational administration. High school math teacher at Buhler High School, Buhler, Kansas, and 2009 Kansas Teacher of the Year.


Dan C. Yunk, '71, '75, '87, bachelor's degree in secondary English, master's degree in secondary education, and doctorate in educational administration. Executive Director and CEO of Kansas Farm Bureau, Manhattan, Kansas, an agricultural advocacy organization.


Sheryl L. Santos, '79, doctorate in curriculum and instruction with a specialization in bilingual education. Dean and Professor of education, College of Education, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas.


Rose Marie Duhon-Sells, '80, doctorate in curriculum and instruction. Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs, Southern University at New Orleans, Louisiana.


Kevin Weiberg, '78, bachelor's degree in secondary education. Commissioner, Big 12 Conference, Dallas, Texas.


Sylvia White Robinson, '71, bachelor's degree in elementary education. Education consultant for educational policy, practice, and leadership development, Kansas City, Kansas.


LeAnn Diehl Clark, '69, bachelor's degree in elementary education. Classroom teacher, Hesston, Kansas.


Kathleen Rager, '00, doctorate in adult education. Assistant Professor of educational leadership and policy studies, College of Education, University of Oklahoma.


Randy Watson, '81, '84, '90, bachelor's degree in history, masters and doctoral degrees in educational administration. Assistant Superintendent, McPherson, Kansas school district.


Julie P. Noble, '84, doctorate in educational research, statistics and measurement. Principal research associate, statistical research department of ACT, Inc.


Dan Lumley, '91, doctorate in education. Director of curriculum and instruction, Lee's Summit, Missouri School District.


Elizabeth Fennema, '50, bachelor's degree in psychology. Professor emerita and senior scientist, Wisconsin Center for Education Research, University of Wisconsin-Madison.


Cyndi Harrison, '85, doctorate in curriculum and instruction. Principal, Trailwood Elementary School, Shawnee Mission, Kansas.

Mark A. Harrison, Sr., '85, doctorate in curriculum and instruction. Principal, Hawthorne Elementary School, Kansas City, Kansas.


Ronald L. Epps, '83, doctorate in administration and foundations. Superintendent of schools, Rockford, Illinois.


Frances J. Irelan, '93, master's in elementary education. Classroom teacher, Lee Elementary School, Manhattan. Kansas.


John C. Laurie, '62, doctorate in educational administration. Principal, Hillcrest High School, Springfield, Missouri.


Gary Bitter, '62, bachelor's in mathematics. Professor of education, Arizona State University.


Cheryl Linn Hewitt, '69, bachelor's in elementary education. President of NEA, Shawnee Mission, Kansas and classroom teacher, Dorothy Moody Elementary School.


JoAnn C. McDowell, '84, doctorate in education. Member, Kansas Board of Regents, and consultant, American Association of Community and Junior Colleges.


Wynona Oiela Winn, '76, '79, Superintendent of schools, Durant, Oklahoma.


Gary Livingston, '76, Superintendent of schools, Topeka, Kansas.


Peggy House, '70, '73, Professor of mathematics and science education, University of Minnesota.


Rudolph E. Waters, '77, President, Alcorn University, Lormon, Mississippi.


JoAnne McCluggage Pottorff, '57, Real estate associate, Wichita, Kansas.

Alumni Fellow Program

Shelbie Witte, 2017 Alumni Fellow

Shelbie Witte
2017 Alumni Fellow